April 07, 2010 - Anonymous

Outstanding businesses called on to compete for £25k cash prize

Entrepreneurs who have achieved outstanding success in running their business have been called on to enter the British Chamber of Commerce (BCC) Chamber Awards, which carries a top prize of £25,000.

The awards are open to businesses of any size, although many have been won by small firms in the past. Firms must, however, be BCC members to enter.

Entrants will be judged on different aspects of running their business depending on the award category. Small firms can enter any of the eight categories:

  • Business of the Year
  • Innovation through Technology
  • Most Promising New Business
  • Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Achievement in International Business
  • Excellence in People Development
  • The Green Award
  • Excellence in Customer Service.

Regional winners in each category will go through to the national awards ceremony where the national category winners will be announced. One overall winner will then be chosen to win a £25,000 prize. The firms in second and third places will receive £15,000 and £10,000 respectively.

“There are some big cash prizes to be won and winning the awards gives firms some real credibility,” said Chamber Awards spokeswoman, Vivienne Bailey. “Both regional and national winners get a lot of press coverage. Previous winners have said that the awards have helped them to generate leads and differentiate themselves from their competition.”

“Each award category requires different qualities. For the Entrepreneur of the Year award, the winner must demonstrate how they have driven their business forward – for example, by diversifying their business,” she added. “To win the Excellence in People Development award, the business must have gone beyond the usual HR rules and regulations to give their staff real opportunities.”

Entrants are encouraged to include figures in their entries to demonstrate their success and to consider using customer testimonials and financial information.

The deadline for entries is 25 June.

  • For more information about the awards and to apply online, visit the Chamber Awards website